They kept asking how depression felt…

Healing Your Broken Soul

                                  

Screen Shot 2016-01-14 at 3.05.25 PM

It feels like…
I’m walking upstream 

through a current strong enough 
to pull me under four times over.

They are others, with me
but they are walking along the banks 
telling me to ‘just get out of the water.’
But instead of extending a hand in help,
they just move on and leave me behind.

Every once in a while I find a rock
that is strong enough for me to lean on,
and I can rest for a bit.

The rocks always get tired of holding me up,
And when they let go, I’m left drowning,
thrown 50 ft. back again

And nothing is harder
than standing up in that current 
when everything in you 
is telling you how much easier things would be 
if you just let yourself get dragged under. 

View original post

Leave a Reply

