A Discussion About Harry Potter

Part One: Christianity

One of the most controversial parts of Harry Potter is the magic involved. Some Christian parents don’t want their children exposed to things like witches and wizards. Having read Harry Potter myself, I enjoyed it immensely. It is a wonderful work of fiction by J.K. Rowling, and I definitely recommend it.

However, there are a few ground rules I think Christian parents should set with their kids while they are reading this book.

If you’re worried about the magic, I’d say that your kids shouldn’t read this book series until they are ten or eleven. When they are reading Harry Potter, make sure that they understand that this world is completely fictional. It is in no way real. I have a Christian friend whose mom did not do this, and she is convinced that Harry Potter is actually real. It is extremely disconcerting when she talks about going to Hogwarts.

If you want to, read the series before your child does, or maybe you could have some bonding time and read it together! It is a wonderful series, and I definitely recommend it. Nearly all of my friends have read it, and it is really a work of art. Just be careful!

God bless,

¬Sel

2 thoughts on “A Discussion About Harry Potter

  1. …think it’s real?

    0.o

    My mom sat the little seven year old me that she found clutching the first book at the library, and talked me through how none of it was real, and she would be right there if I got scared. She also tried to talk me into waiting, but she got to ‘a few years’ and I stopped her. She let me read the first one, but she didn’t let me read the rest until 9. :p

    Like

Leave a Reply

