Hiya, Kell!

It’s that time of year again! Kellyn Roth is an aspiring teen author going above and beyond with two books this year instead of one! Yes, one is a re-write, but we’re skipping the details and simply bumbling in awe. What a truly fabulous person! Surely, she’s some sort of goddess.

Well…

No.

If you think that, you’ve obviously never met Kell here. Well, we should fix that, shouldn’t we? Let’s do so. Give it up for Kellyn Roth, y’all!

Hi Kellyn! Nice to have you back on Hearth!

Nice to be here, Sel! I really appreciate your support! ❤


Let’s go right to it! Tell us a bit about yourself, Kellyn.


Well, I’m a homeschooled highschooler from North-Eastern Oregon who spends her spare time writing books, three of which have now been published. I love the colors pink, lilac, red, and green. But especially pink. Pink is awesome.

And … I love animals. And good movies/TV shows. And reading … lots of reading.. And soccer, especially if I’m allowed to be ruthless. I’m an ISTP with some INTJ-ness in me. That’s about all I can think of just now, though there is much more. Most of it you can find out by reading my blog, https://kellynroth.wordpress.com/

That’s pretty cool! I’m an INTP with INFP qualities, accordimg to Windu over here. Did I get that right, Winds?

So, tell us a bit about your books! What were some inspirations you stumbled on that led to The Dressmaker’s Secret and Ivy Introspective?


The Dressmaker’s Secret came from wanting to write about the backstory of a character from another book (which, thankfully, shall never be published). Ivy Introspective came from wanting to write a book about the twin sister of Alice (the main character of TDS).


However, I think much of the inspiration for TDS came from wanting to show a child’s need for a complete family. IvIn, on the other hand, came from my interest in mental disabilities/whatever you want to call them (I don’t know if they’re always necessarily disabilities! They can be good, too!) such as autism and ADHD.


I think it’s pretty neat that you’re tackling subjects like that in your writing. They’re lacking in good books nowadays.

Who are some characters you’re really proud of in your two books?


I love Alice. Even though she has some problems at the start of TDS, she goes on to be a better person. I’m also proud of Ivy for becoming the awesome girl I always knew she was. And Miss Chattoway for just hanging on. And … the list goes on. Quite honestly, I’m ridiculously proud of all my characters.


That’s good! If you can’t be proud of your characters, your readers can’t, either. That’s actually my biggest struggle in writing – creating good characters and developing them properly.

What’s the most in-depth research you’ve ever had to do for writing a book?


I think it was researching mental illnesses/disabilities/etc. for IvIn. I mean, I’ve had to do a lot of research on the Underground Railroad and various illnesses for one of my current projects, Once a Stratton, but I think the IvIn research was a little harder.


That’s to be expected. Research like that is prety hard!

What is your proudest achievement so far, writing-wise?


Very few people have read it, but I love my book, At Her Fingertips. It’s The Chronicles of Alice and Ivy, Book 3, and I think it’s pretty good. Of course, that’s my conceited author opinion. I think it had something to do with writing 65K in a month and it not being totally awful.


Wow! I don’t think I could ever write 65K in a month!

In writing your two books – or in one case, re-writing – what has been your proudest moment?


Hmm … that’s a hard one. I think the proudest moment was when I was writing TDS, and it all just seemed to come together. That was a great moment. I got it all figured out, and it just made sense, y’know?


Isn’t that an amazing feeling! I’m more of a plotter, so it’s nice when everything goes according to plan.

How has your blog affected your writing, and vice versa?


I think my blog has affected my writing by showing me how to write consistently and on a schedule – and how to be creative on demand. Also, talking about my writing makes me want to write!

My writing has affected my blog simply because, well, I try to use my voice as much as possible in my posts … so my readers won’t pick up a copy of my books and go, “Wait … is this the same Kell?” 😉


Well, the majority of your followers love your vlogs. What was your motivation for starting them?


Because everyone needs more of my face! 😛

Not really. I think the real reason was because I wanted to do something special for the blog tour of TLOTV … but I couldn’t think of anything! So I pulled up “web camera” on my laptop, switched to video, and started talking. Then I set up a YouTube channel … and voila!

I don’t claim to be an actual vlogger – I’m just not that confident on-screen, and I don’t have much to say – but I enjoy it, and I hope my followers enjoy it a little, too. 🙂


We definitely like it!

Now, your followers know that you live on a ranch in Oregon. Some bloggers who are also writers prefer to be more discreet about their location. What are some reasons why you’ve chosen to be more open?


Well, I do believe you should be safe on the internet. I don’t give out my address or social security number for sure … however, I feel like a part of me is lost if I don’t say where I’m from. I’m an Oregonian – more specifically an Eastern/country Oregonian.

I don’t mind people knowing that much, especially as any stalker would have to search 98,466 square miles to find me in this state. Although I admit I’ve narrowed it down somewhat by staying I’m in the Eastern half. Still, there’s more Eastern than Western Oregon! 😛


Nice safety talk! Things like that really are lacking in society nowadays, with the majority of people’s lives online.

Now, on to the most important questions! What’s your favourite flavour of ice cream?


Ooh, that’s hard! I think I’m going to go with chocolate, though. At DQ (Dairy Queen – icecream place for those who don’t know), I always get a Peanut Butter Bash, though. That’s vanilla icecream with chocolate and peanut butter syrup + chocolate flakes. It’s amazing!


I also love chocolate, though I can’t eat peanut butter. I’m allergic 😉

What’s your favourite thing about Oregon?


Honestly, there’s not a lot I like about Oregon as a whole, haha. I’m proud of living here, but that’s doesn’t mean I like it.

Seriously, though, Oregon is a great state. I think one of the best things about it is its history. The story of Lewis and Clark and the Pioneers and all that is pretty amazing.

Then there’s also Oregon’s landscape. Not to brag, but it’s beautiful here. Mountains, forests, deserts, farmlands, hills, plains, coast, rivers … we’ve got it all, and it’s pretty gorgeous!

Then … farming. There are lots of farms/ranches in Oregon. People mostly think of the Willamette Valley area when they think of Oregon farming, but we farm everywhere here. Many wheatfields cover the hills – mountains to some Midwesterners! We have huge orchards in my area – again on hillsides. Then there’s a lot of flat area to the south and east … it’s pretty amazing! I especially love the huge acreages where cows graze.


It sounds pretty great to live in a state with all of that cool history. Winds would freak out if she lived there.

Well, last of all – what is some advice you’d like to give to younger authors?


Be yourself as a writer! If your writing follows trends, that’s okay, but never change your writing to be like everyone else! No one will ever be you. I can’t tell you how many books I’ve read that were so similar as to be boring. Don’t let that be your book!

Also, make sure writing is always fun! If it’s not fun, there’s no reason to do it, after all!


Well, guys, that’s ten(ish) questions! Make sure to check out her books The Dressmaker’s Secret and Ivy Introspective! Thanks for being here, Kell!


Thanks for having me, Sel!


Well, I’ll see you guys later with an update on RoS.

Bye!

~Sel

3 thoughts on “Hiya, Kell!

Leave a Reply

